Save the dates!

The Central Vermont High School Initiative has been very busy over the last 12 months.  We shared in a powerful and energizing retreat over the summer and we want to unveil the fruits of our labors.  We are on schedule to offer a 9th grade program in the fall of 2013, and we expect to announce the location and other details in a brochure which we are developing now. We have now passed our by laws and currently have a Steering Committee and Pedagogical Advisory Committee working on our upcoming programs.

Please Join us on Sunday October 21, 2 – 4:30pm, to learn more details about the Initiative and our progress on the 9th grade program for fall 2013 (meeting location TBA)

We also invite you to save the date of Wednesday November 14th for our first fundraising event.  We are delighted to offer a showing of the new documentary on the life of Rudolf Steiner, founder of the Waldorf School Movement, The Challenge of Rudolf Steiner: Part 1 at the Savoy Theater Downstairs, in Montpelier. View the trailer for the film here.  Information on ticket sales for this event will be available soon. A showing of Part 2 of this movie will be scheduled for early 2013.

All are welcome to join our Adolescent Study Group, starting September 26th. We will be reading a series of lectures entitled The Spirit of the Waldorf School. Details of meeting dates and times can be found on our Calendar. From a summary of the book: “Here Steiner outlines – with freshness, immediacy, and excitement – the goals and intentions of a new form of education and speaks to parents of prospective students. He explains the school’s guiding principles and describes how parents must participate, with understanding and interest, in the awakening of their children’s creative forces so that a healthier society can come about.” 

Thank you for your interest in the Central Vermont High School Initiative. We look forward to meeting you very soon with many delightful preparations for Central Vermont’s adolescents.

The Members of the CVHSI Steering Committee
John Brennan, Moss McCurdy, Andrea Melville, Stephan Vdoviak, Marianne Donahue Perchlik